Popular Articles

no results

Sorry! nothing found for

How can I check the status of my submitted paper?

Modified on Fri, 27 Oct 2023 at 04:59 PM

To check the status of your submission in our system, log into your ScholarOne Manuscripts account, and click on “Author.” Under the Author Dashboard Section, click on “Submitted Manuscripts.” 

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Please note that the following definitions generally apply to most journals. Each journal follows its own workflow, so some terms may not apply. Please contact the journal's editorial office for clarification.

Please see our resources on the peer review process and tips on How to Get Published .

Was this article helpful?

That’s Great!

Thank you for your feedback

Sorry! We couldn't be helpful

Let us know how can we improve this article! *

Feedback sent

We appreciate your effort and will try to fix the article

Article views count

BMJ Author Hub

After submitting

In this section:

  • NEW! Featured Author Support
  • Tracking your submission
  • My paper has been accepted – what next?
  • Appeals and rebuttals
  • BMJ Article Transfer Service
  • Abstracting and indexing
  • Archiving, permissions and copyright
  • Article metrics and alerts
  • Correction and retraction policies
  • Publication embargo
  • Rapid responses

The peer review process

When you have submitted your manuscript successfully the next step is peer review.

Types of peer review

BMJ mainly operates the following types of peer review:

  • Open peer review: Reviewer and author are known to each other. These journals publish the reviewer comments and previous versions of the manuscript alongside the accepted paper.
  • Single anonymised peer review: The names of the reviewers are hidden from the author. This is the traditional method of reviewing and is the most common.
  • Double anonymised peer review: Both the reviewer and the author are anonymous to each other.
  • Triple anonymised peer review: The handling editor, reviewer and author are anonymous to each other.

Each journal offers a different type of peer review, so please check on their individual websites for details.

Peer review process

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

1. Awaiting Editorial Production Assistant Processing

The Editorial Production Assistant will carry out quality checks on your article at which point you may need to provide further information before your article is sent for Peer Review.

2. Awaiting Editor Assignment: 

Your article has passed initial quality checks by the Editorial Production Assistant and is in the process of being assigned to an appropriate Editor who will evaluate your article for scope, quality, and fit for the journal. Papers that do not meet these criteria will be rejected.

3. Awaiting Reviewer Selection

Your article meets the Journal’s scope and has been approved for peer review. The Editorial Team are in the process of finding suitable external expert reviewers that are available to review your article. Your article may also be sent to relevant Associate Editor’s for internal review. For most articles, a minimum of two reviews are required. Articles can be sent to multiple prospective reviewers before the required number are secured.

4. Peer Review in Progress

Your article has secured the minimum number of required reviewers. Peer reviewers are given 2 weeks to submit their review of your article. On the occasion that a reviewer withdraws from the process, the Editorial Team will begin the reviewer selection process again.

 5. Awaiting Editor Decision

Your article has now received the minimum number of reviews required to make a decision. The Editor will take into account the expert reviewers’ opinions to make an informed decision of accept, reject or revise.

6. In Production

Your article has been accepted and you will receive an email to confirm. Your article will move through the final quality checks and in to Production where it will be processed for publication. You will be emailed by the Production Editor with a timeline and be provided with a link to a platform called Publishing at Work where you can continue to track your article’s progress. More information about the Production process can be found here .

While we aim to complete the peer review process as quickly as possible, please bear in mind that reviewers give their time voluntarily. There may be occasions where several reviewers are invited before the required number can be arranged, or when a reviewer fails to deliver a review and the invitation process needs to start again. The average time to first decision is published on each journal’s website.

Article provenance

BMJ is committed to transparency. Every article we publish includes a description of its provenance (commissioned or not commissioned) and whether it was internally or externally peer reviewed. Articles described as ‘internally peer reviewed’ will have been assessed by one or more of the journal’s editors.

How Long Should Authors Wait for a Journal's Response? (and When to Reach Out)

  • Research Process

Researchers should wait for 6-8 weeks before contacting a journal editor to inquire about the status of their submitted paper, according to advice from American Journal Experts. The initial submission process, including ethical checks and finding suitable peer reviewers, can take up to three weeks, while the rejection rate for peer reviewers can be as high as 70%, leading to potential delays in publishing.

Updated on May 4, 2023

an hourglass to represent wait times for authors to reach out to academic journals

FAQ from a researcher : How long should I wait after journal article submission before writing to the editor for an update?

Researchers ask our AJE team questions all the time. The question we are answering today came in from an author via one of our Research Communication Partners (RCPs).

Wait! What's an RCP?

An AJE Research Communication Partner (RCP) is an expert who works with out authors who have bought Premium Editing packages. RCP's are standing by to answer any and all of your research questions.

Back to the question. Just the other day, an author contacted one of our RCPs to ask: “I’ve submitted an article to a journal. How long should I wait before contacting the journal editor to ask about the status of my submitted paper? I've been waiting for a couple of weeks without hearing anything. The status of the paper on the journal management system is still ‘submitted to the journal.’”

Don’t wait! Communicate!

In response to questions like this – about articles submitted to journals – AJE always likes to say “Don’t wait! Communicate!” In this case, our advice to this author, which was passed via the RCP, was to wait for 6-8 weeks to hear back from the journal (based on the average time to first response stated on the journal’s website) and then to write a politely-worded email to the editor to request more information, suggesting some additional names and emails for suitable peer reviewers.

Some helpful background on submitting to a journal

In this case, the question we received was about how long to wait before asking about the status of a submitted paper. On average, the length of time it takes an editor to process a paper submitted to their journal and send it out for peer review is 2-3 weeks.

The editor (or editorial office) has to check the submission to make sure it complies with all ethical guidelines (e.g., declarations, data protection, local and national ethical board approvals) as well as the journal’s aims and scope and internal checklists. Once the submission passes these initial checks (so-called ‘Editorial Triage’) the paper is then assigned to two or more suitable peer reviewers. This also takes time.

Up to 70% of requests for peer review sent out by journals are rejected by researchers because they have limited time or feel the article they are being asked to assess is too far from their expertise. Editors often have to ask a number of potential peer reviewers before two or more accept the job. Then, it takes more time for comments to come back, and – even then – these might be conflicting and require additional reviewers to be consulted before the editor is able to reach a balanced opinion.

In short, it takes time. Usually, it takes up to 6-8 weeks before you can expect to hear anything back from your journal editor.

How to draft an email to check on your article submission progress

It’s important to be polite and courteous at all times while writing an email to a publisher. Clearly ask for information, but also provide the editor the title, the authors, and the manuscript number to help them find your paper in their system. 

It is helpful to also provide suggestions for additional peer reviewers. It’s quite likely your paper has become stalled in the journal system because of a lack of peer reviewers. Therefore, including some peer reviews in your enquiry email will go a long way in clearing the lag. 

As an author, you also have the chance to make some suggestions for peer reviewers in your cover letter when submitting your paper for the first time. Who should these peer reviewers be? Other colleagues in your field who would be suitable to give comments about your article. 

What you can write

You can write something along the lines of: 

“Dear Editor,

I'm writing to enquire about the status of my article submitted on [date], manuscript number [X, Y and Z]. The authors and title of our paper are as follows: 

I would like to inquire about the status of our submitted manuscript since it has now been [insert the amount of time that has passed]. 

Here are some suggestions for additional potential colleagues who would be in a position to provide suitable peer review.

Thank you for your time. 

Sincerely, 

[Your name].”

Final thoughts

This is the way to do it. Wait a while. Then, communicate with the journal editor after an appropriate amount of time has passed.

Don’t wait, communicate. If you have questions about article writing, article publishing or managing the journal publication process, get in touch with us at AJE .

Because academic writing is no-one’s first language.

The AJE Team

The AJE Team

See our "Privacy Policy"

Don't waste valuable time sifting through countless journals - let us do the work for you!

Try our Journal Recommendation service today and take the first step toward successful publication.

We use cookies on this site to enhance your experience

By clicking any link on this page you are giving your consent for us to set cookies.

A link to reset your password has been sent to your email.

Back to login

We need additional information from you. Please complete your profile first before placing your order.

Thank you. payment completed., you will receive an email from us to confirm your registration, please click the link in the email to activate your account., there was error during payment, orcid profile found in public registry, download history, navigating peer review: sitting and waiting – what can you do what should you do.

  • Charlesworth Author Services
  • 17 September, 2019
  • Peer Review Process

Navigating peer review: Sitting and waiting – What can you do? What should you do?

Congratulations! You’ve submitted your article to a leading international journal (hopefully with a high impact factor ) and have checked your author area within their online submission system to see that you’re now ‘awaiting reviewer scores’. Most online systems give authors the opportunity to check on the status of submissions : it’s a good idea to log in regularly to make sure that your article is moving through the peer review process . You will see little messages like ‘awaiting editorial approval’, ‘awaiting reviewer scores’, ‘awaiting editorial board comments’ and ‘decision pending’ as your article wends its way through this process. Eventually, an editor will make a decision and you will get your paper back with comments from peer reviewers .

Should you just sit, wait and do nothing as an author as this process runs its course?

No. One of the most common kinds of questions that we are asked during our paper writing and publishing workshops is along the lines of ‘I submitted a paper to a journal three months ago and I’ve heard nothing. The system still says ‘awaiting reviewer scores’. What should I do?’. Publication speed is very important to you as an author for obvious reasons: you must write to the editor if you have no news back about peer review and a reasonable amount of time has passed.

What constitutes a ‘reasonable amount of time’?

Well, the average length of time across the publishing industry from submission to online publication is three months or 90 days. We recommend writing to your journal editor if one month has passed and your paper appears ‘stuck’ in the submission system. Publishers are also interested in speed of publication, and many will use analytics to track this by journal and sometimes even by editor – so you are not the only one in this process with a vested interest!

Writing to journal editors about your paper

Authors, especially young researchers, are often nervous about writing directly to journal editors. Don’t be: this is your paper, your research, your career, and your future. [ Get in touch with our team at Charlesworth and we can provide you with short templates for writing these kinds of emails.]

Some quick tips:

- Be polite but direct when writing to a journal editor . What’s the issue that needs to be addressed?

- Make sure your email is positive: what solution are you proposing to the issue?

For example, let’s imagine that your research paper is stuck ‘awaiting reviewer comments’ and two months have passed with no news from the journal.

‘Dear Editor: I am writing on behalf of my co-authors to enquire about the status of our paper submitted on x date, entitled y’. We see that this article is ‘awaiting reviewer comments’ and more than two months have passed: we have therefore taken the opportunity to suggest the names of some additional colleagues who would be suitable peer reviewers’.

Don’t forget to include two or three additional names and email addresses at the bottom of your short message.

It’s always a good idea to write and interact directly with journal editors. As we’ve discussed before, they are very often also busy academic researchers, running their groups, supervising students, teaching and, also, managing journals. Papers get forgotten about, reviewers are not chased. You must take the initiative as an author : editors will appreciate and understand this! Don’t be pushy. Don’t be aggressive. Always be polite, constructive and offer solutions to save the editor time .

Once, in one of our author workshops , we were asked: ‘my paper has been in review with a journal for more than a year and I’ve heard nothing. What should I do?’. It’s your career. Please don’t let this happen to you!

Read next (third) in series: Navigating peer review: How to respond to peer reviewer comments – Minor revisions

Read previous (first) in series: Navigating peer review: Making your initial submission

Charlesworth Author Services , a trusted brand supporting the world’s leading academic publishers, institutions and authors since 1928. 

To know more about our services, visit: Our Services

Visit our new Researcher Education Portal that offers articles and webinars covering all aspects of your research to publication journey! And sign up for our newsletter on the Portal to stay updated on all essential researcher knowledge and information!

Register now: Researcher Education Portal

Maximise your publication success with Charlesworth Author Services.

Share with your colleagues

Related articles.

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Managing peer review as an ECR: Learning to communicate effectively with editors

Charlesworth Author Services 26/03/2020 00:00:00

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

When peer review goes wrong: How to communicate with your target journal

Charlesworth Author Services 20/08/2019 00:00:00

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Why some journals ask authors to suggest reviewers

Charlesworth Author Services 11/08/2016 00:00:00

Related webinars

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Bitesize Webinar: How to write and structure your academic article for publication: Module 11: Know when your article is ready for submission

Charlesworth Author Services 05/03/2021 00:00:00

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Bitesize Webinar: How to write and structure your academic article for publication - Module 12: Understand the peer review process

Charlesworth Author Services 10/03/2021 00:00:00

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Bitesize Webinar: How to write and structure your academic article for publication - Module 13: Navigate the revise and resubmit process

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Bitesize Webinar: How to write and structure your academic article for publication - Module 14: Increase your chances for publication

Charlesworth Author Services 20/04/2021 00:00:00

Navigating review

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Navigating peer review: How to respond to peer reviewer comments – Minor revisions

Charlesworth Author Services 19/09/2019 00:00:00

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Navigating peer review: How to respond to peer reviewer comments – Major revisions

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Navigating peer review: How to respond to comments you disagree with in order to maximise your chances of acceptance

Charlesworth Author Services 20/09/2019 00:00:00

[email protected]

awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

Submitted my paper. Now what?

Feb 18, 2022 | Scholarly publishing

There is something of an air of mystery as to what actually happens to your manuscript once you’ve pressed that “submit” button. It seemingly goes off into cyberspace and you are left playing the waiting game.

These days, if you’ve submitted to a journal via an online submission system, you will be able to track its progress to some extent as you will generally be able to see what stage it’s at. The names of these stages can, however, seem fairly vague and almost worse than no information at all.

So let’s translate them. There are many different submission systems and the stages a manuscript goes through during peer review does differ system to system (and, indeed, journal to journal), so for the purposes of this post we’re going to look at the most common stages of the most common submission site: ScholarOne (formally Manuscript Central).

First Steps

Initially your manuscript will go through stages such as “Awaiting Admin Checklist” and/or “Awaiting Editor Assignment” depending on how new submissions are initially checked on the journal. These stages tend to be moved through fairly swiftly as they are just the editorial team checking that your submission is suitable for peer review and then deciding which of the editors will be responsible for it during the process.

Awaiting Reviewer Selection

This is the first stage of the peer-review process and your manuscript will be here until the assigned Editor has selected some suitable experts to invite to review.

Once enough reviewers have been selected, the manuscript will move on to the next stage. If only one reviewer agrees to review and all the others decline the invitation, however, your manuscript may well return to this stage while the Editor selects more. So if you log in to check on progress several weeks after submission and find your manuscript at this stage, it doesn’t necessarily mean that no action has been taken.

Awaiting Reviewer Invitation

This means that potential reviewers have been selected, but have yet to be invited. Manuscripts quite often return to this stage if not enough of the invited reviewers accepted the invitation so further invitations need to be sent. It’s quite common for editors to select a lot of reviewers, but only invite a few at a time.

Awaiting Reviewer Assignment

This rather ambiguous stage is when reviewers have been invited, but we are waiting for the required number to agree to review. In other words, at this point, the ball is squarely in the reviewers’ court!

In an ideal world, enough of the invited reviewers will agree to review and your manuscript will move on to the next stage. In reality, however, it is quite normal for invited reviewers to be unavailable and for your manuscript to return to one of the earlier stages a couple of times.

Awaiting Reviewer Scores

This is the stage that the editorial team will be striving to get your manuscript to as swiftly as possible. If your manuscript is at this stage, then enough experts have agreed to read and evaluate it and we just need to wait for the reviewers to return their comments so that a decision can be taken.

Once through this stage, your manuscript will move on to a stage such as “Awaiting Recommendation” and/or “Awaiting Decision” and it generally won’t be long before a decision is sent to you.

So That’s It?

That’s it. There are, of course, many things that can cause delays to the process, but the majority of manuscripts move from one stage to the next fairly swiftly.

  • Company information and news
  • Scholarly publishing
  • Testimonials
  • Company Statements
  •  Privacy Notice
  • Terms & Conditions
  • Modern Slavery Statement
  • Equality, Diversity & Inclusion
  • Anti-Bribery Statement

Verified Reviews - IEEE TRANSACTIONS ON COMMUNICATIONS

Poloz 2023-05-29

2022/10/13 submit, Awaiting AE Assignment 2022/10/17 Status: Awaiting Reviewer Selection 2022/11/4 Status: Under review 2023/2/12 Status: Major Revision 2023/3/27 Major revision submission, Status: Awaiting Reviewer Invitation 2023/3/19 Status: Under review 2023/5/26 Status: Accept The review process took a long time, a total of 225 days, but finally everything is settled before graduation!

D华丽 2023-04-17

2023/02/18 Submission 2023/05/18 Major Revision 2023/07 A revision has been submitted, under review for approximately one week after submission.

zengyue 2023-01-14

2022.03.27 Submit the paper; 2022.08.17 Return for major revisions (65 review comments, quite intense, but the initial submission indeed had these issues); 2022.09.29 Submit the revised version for major revisions; 2022.11.18 Return for major revisions (only 6 comments left from one reviewer, very responsible reviewer); 2022.12.01 Submit the revised version for major revisions; 2023.01.11 Accepted! Happy, lalala! Overall evaluation: TCOM is indeed a high-quality top journal, and the reviewers are very diligent and responsible; the raised questions are all reasonable; thanks to all the reviewers! I recommend everyone to submit their papers!

Poloz 2023-01-12

Ah, it's so difficult. It's really frustrating to wait for such a long time and get rejected. My first trial hasn't come out yet. What are you planning to do next, OP?

Kevin 2023-01-10

2023.01.10 REJECT I don't know how to start making changes...

Kevin 2023-01-04

Unfortunately, it coincided with the overseas Christmas and New Year holidays, and as of now, I have not received a decision. Let's wait patiently~

Kevin 2022-12-30

2022.12.30 Awaiting Editor Decision. The quality of the new year depends on the editor's decision.

风封峰 2022-12-23

Submitted on 3.10, rejected on 6.27. Re-submitted after revision on 7.23, major revision on 10.13. Submitted on 11.24, accepted on 12.22. Took more than 9 months.

Kevin 2022-12-19

The review process of a journal is indeed very agonizing~ It has been so long, and there is still no sign of progress. I can only patiently wait.

Poloz 2022-11-26

Based on experience, the first review should take about two months. If lucky, the reviewers respond quickly and the editors handle it promptly, and the first review result can be obtained in less than two months. If luck is not so good, the reviewers may wait until the deadline to give their comments, and the editors may also wait until the deadline to reply, so it is possible for it to take three months ?.

WWTkh 2022-11-22

May I ask how long the second "under review" will last, and is it necessary to find a new reviewer?

Kevin 2022-11-21

Finding a reviewer takes a really long time, huh~ hh How long does the formal review process take?

Aptom 2022-11-20

2022.4.18 submitted 2022.8.8 major revision 2022.9.29 resubmitted 2022.11.14 accepted Translated into English: 2022.4.18 submitted 2022.8.8 major revision 2022.9.29 resubmitted 2022.11.14 accepted

Poloz 2022-11-18

It is very likely that the reviewer has not been available. It has been almost two months, and the editor had to urge them before the reviewer finally responded. ?

Kevin 2022-11-11

2022.11.11 Under Review, it's unbelievable that it has just entered the review stage now~ So incredible, haha.

Kevin 2022-11-08

Why is it that my submission has been two months and still "Awaiting Reviewer Assignment"... Does it mean that they haven't found any reviewers yet?

Poloz 2022-10-17

2022/10/17 Status: Awaiting Reviewer Selection 2022/11/4 Status: Under review

2022/10/17 Awaiting Reviewer Selection

Kevin 2022-10-13

It has been a month since submission, and it has been "Awaiting Reviewer Assignment" all along. Does it mean the manuscript is already under review? Hopefully, good luck! Keep updating!

Poloz 2022-10-13

The following text translated into English is: "Veteran communication journal. 2022/10/13 submit, Awaiting AE Assignment 2022/10/17 Status: Awaiting Reviewer Selection 2022/11/4 Status: Under review 2023/2/12 Status: Major Revision 2023/3/27 Major revision submission, Status: Awaiting Reviewer Invitation 2023/3/19 Status: Under review 2023/5/26 Status: Accept!"

Kevin 2022-09-29

As of now, it has not entered the review stage yet~

jxgsd 2022-08-22

You can give it a try. After all, the first time is due to direction reasons.

JCCJ 2022-08-19

August 18th, awaiting editor decision.

jxgsd 2022-07-25

In other words, it means that only rejection is possible, but you can submit again. If the paper is rejected by the current journal, you need to upload the revised manuscript and a response letter. This is explained in the "Information for authors" section.

The journals TCOM and TWC do not have the option of resubmission after rejection. They only reject submissions directly. However, these two journals allow for a particular situation: if your manuscript has been rejected only once (including both this journal and other journals), then you can submit again. In other words, if you have not submitted to any other journal and your submission to TCOM has been rejected, TCOM allows you to revise the manuscript and submit it along with a response letter.

宇宙系浪漫 2022-07-22

Hello~ May I ask if it is a rejection with the option to resubmit, or just a rejection without the possibility of resubmission?

jxgsd 2022-07-21

I submitted another article at the beginning of March and encountered the same editor as last time. The processing speed was very fast. The first review result came out in 55 days and it was rejected. After making revisions for one month, I resubmitted it and it was accepted after 50 days. It took more than 5 months in total.

JCCJ 2022-07-02

July 2nd Under Review

DMDLI 2022-06-22

Submitted in November last year, received the first review notice in February this year. Revised in April, received minor revisions in June, and then received the acceptance notification shortly after submission. It took approximately 8 months from submission to acceptance.

JCCJ 2022-06-16

Submitted on March 31st. Currently still awaiting reviewer assignment. Hoping for good luck.

Find Funding. Review Successful Grants.

Explore over 25,000 new funding opportunities and over 6,000,000 successful grants.

Create your own webinar

Interested in hosting your own webinar? Check the schedule and propose your idea to the Peeref Content Team.

IMAGES

  1. [Solved] What does "Awaiting Reviewer Scores" mean

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

  2. [Solved] "Awaiting Reviewer Invitation" after

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

  3. JUSTC

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

  4. How to Write an Assignment: Step by Step Guide

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

  5. CHAIR HOW-TO: Automatic Assignment of Reviewer

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

  6. [Solved] Awaiting AE assignment to Under Review?

    awaiting reviewer assignment for a long time

VIDEO

  1. Awaiting for a long

  2. Assignment 01 Long section part 3

  3. wake up and smell the andagi

  4. Long time flying

  5. Hummm!! Smart Cat Peo Tiered of Studying His Computer assignment!! Long IsLand, NY, USA. 02/21/2024

  6. Genesis Locomotives Awaiting Their Next Assignment #railway #railroad #amtrak

COMMENTS

  1. What can I do if my submission remains 'Awaiting Reviewer Assignment

    After a short time, the status of the manuscript changed to 'Reviewer selection,' then 'Reviewer assignment', then 'Reviewer selection', and then 'Reviewer assignment' again. The status has not changed to 'Under review'. I am afraid that after this long period, the editor will reject the manuscript. So, please give me advice.

  2. What should I do if the status of my paper has been Awaiting Reviewer

    The manuscript being stuck at Awaiting Reviewer Assignment for a month is not uncommon. This means that while the manuscript cleared the desk screening and was deemed good to go for peer review, the journal is finding it somewhat challenging to identify the right peer reviewers for your paper.

  3. Article awaiting reviewer invitation 6 months after submission

    They tried on their own, failed, then asked you for help after two months (kind of a long time, but not a priori unreasonable). The people that you suggested somehow didn't pan out, and they reacted badly to that, putting your work on some sort of long-term queue. 2) Whatever electronic system is conveying to you the message "awaiting reviewer ...

  4. paper submission

    1. You can send a request for an update at any time. You may or may not learn anything. There could be many reasons for a delay, including not sending too many papers to one editor and needing to find another who is suitable. But an average of 30 days tells you little about the distribution of actual times.

  5. How to handle situation in which the article has been "Awaiting

    I submitted an article 5 months ago to a journal. Since then, the article has been jumping between "Waiting for Reviewer Assignment" and "Contacting Potential Reviewers" (10 changes of status now). The article is quite technical and multidisciplinary, so I understand that finding reviewers is hard.

  6. How can I check the status of my submitted paper?

    Awaiting Editor Assignment: Multiple editors may be assigned to your submission, depending on the journal's workflow. ... Sometimes, the tracking system may show the "Reviewer Invited" status for some time and then move back to "With Editor." This probably means that the peer reviewers have declined the invitations, and the editor will ...

  7. What does a status change from "Awaiting reviewer assignment" to

    The status "Awaiting reviewer assignment" means that your paper has cleared teh initial editorial screening and will be sent for peer review. During this time, the editor looks for suitable reviewers for your paper and sends out review invitations.

  8. The peer review process

    Peer reviewers are given 2 weeks to submit their review of your article. On the occasion that a reviewer withdraws from the process, the Editorial Team will begin the reviewer selection process again. 5. Awaiting Editor Decision. Your article has now received the minimum number of reviews required to make a decision.

  9. What should I do if the status has been Awaiting Reviewer ...

    Is one month a long time to wait for the reviewer scores? It is a bit long, but the delay could be because not all the reviewer scores have come in. Perhaps one reviewer (or two, in case the manuscript was sent to more than two reviewers) is still to send in their review. Is the long time (delay) a bad sign? Not necessarily.

  10. PDF What Happens to My Paper

    Page 3 of 7. 6. Decision notification e-mails and what they mean. There are several decisions that authors may receive after submitting their paper to one of the Society's journals: Reject without review:The Action Editor has rejected the paper without sending it for peer review. Reject:The paper has been through the peer review process and ...

  11. What does the status "Waiting for reviewer assignment" mean?

    1. It typically means that the paper has been received, has been put in the work queue of the editor, but the editor has not assigned reviewers. Or (in one system I know of), that the editor has not assigned the necessary number of reviewers. That could be because the system requires four reviewers, but the editor has only gotten the commitment ...

  12. What does it mean for SAGE SSCI awaiting reviewer assignment after I

    Reviewer Assignment:The status "awaiting reviewer assignment" indicates that the editorial team is in the process of selecting and assigning new reviewers to evaluate your revised manuscript ...

  13. Why the status of my REVISED manuscript changed from ...

    thanks a lot. the status of "awaiting reviewer assignment" just last for less than one day, and on the same day, the status was changed to "awaiting reviewer scores".

  14. Is it common to see the manuscript status as 'Awaiting Reviewer

    One month since your manuscript moved to 'Awaiting Reviewer Selection' is a bit long, though not unusual. The journal may be having a challenge finding the appropriate reviewers (both in terms of numbers and expertise). ... while you can take things one step at a time, you can keep initiating other actions to ensure you are prepared for any ...

  15. How Long Should Authors Wait for a Journal's Response? (and When to

    Researchers should wait for 6-8 weeks before contacting a journal editor to inquire about the status of their submitted paper, according to advice from American Journal Experts. The initial submission process, including ethical checks and finding suitable peer reviewers, can take up to three weeks, while the rejection rate for peer reviewers ...

  16. Navigating peer review: Sitting and waiting

    Most online systems give authors the opportunity to check on the status of submissions: it's a good idea to log in regularly to make sure that your article is moving through the peer review process. You will see little messages like 'awaiting editorial approval', 'awaiting reviewer scores', 'awaiting editorial board comments' and ...

  17. Is it normal for a journal submission to show "awaiting assignment" for

    If not, I would contact them immediately just to check up. A month is a long time to go with no word. My paper submissions (all to the Astrophysical Journal) have all been followed up by the editor within a week of initial submission. ... How to handle situation in which the article has been "Awaiting reviewer assignment" for 5 months? 3. More ...

  18. Submitted my paper. Now what?

    Initially your manuscript will go through stages such as "Awaiting Admin Checklist" and/or "Awaiting Editor Assignment" depending on how new submissions are initially checked on the journal. ... but only invite a few at a time. Awaiting Reviewer Assignment. This rather ambiguous stage is when reviewers have been invited, but we are ...

  19. Desk reject after "awaiting reviewer selections" status

    I recently submitted a paper to a (not very selective) journal (Sage publications). After a week of submission, the status changed to "awaiting reviewer selections". I took this to mean that the paper has passed the desk review, since the editor is selecting reviewers. However, after a few days, I got a desk reject notification.

  20. Verified Reviews

    2022/10/13 submit, Awaiting AE Assignment 2022/10/17 Status: Awaiting Reviewer Selection 2022/11/4 Status: Under review 2023/2/12 Status: Major Revision 2023/3/27 Major revision submission, Status: Awaiting Reviewer Invitation 2023/3/19 Status: Under review 2023/5/26 Status: Accept The review process took a long time, a total of 225 days, but ...

  21. Is it normal for a paper to be in Awaiting Editor Assignment a long

    Status stuck at Awaiting Editor Assignment. The manuscript awaiting the assignment of an editor for more than two-and-half months is both a bit long and unusual. It's more common to have a challenge finding peer reviewers, unless with this journal or for this paper, the review is to be done internally.

  22. Q: What does the status "Waiting for reviewer assignment" mean?

    1 Answer to this question. Answer: This means that your manuscript has not yet been assigned to a reviewer. In this stage, the editor identifies a few reviewers for your paper and sends out email invitations to them. Once the required number of reviewers accept the review invitation, the status changes to "Under review."

  23. publications

    Try to recollect how the statuses changed when you submitted the paper the first time. Scenario 1: with editor/under editor evaluation >> awaiting reviewer selection >> under review If this is how the status had changed the first time you submitted the paper, then chances are that your paper is actually being sent for a re-review.